MEETING MINUTES

Kootenai Metropolitan Planning Organization
Policy Board Meeting
January 4, 2007
Idaho Transportation Department District 1 Headquarters
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

Board Members in Attendance:

Lynn Humphreys, Chair Post Falls Highway District

Clay Larkin, Vice Chair

Dixie Reid

City of Post Falls

City of Coeur d'Alene

East Side Highway District

Mark Soderling

Lakes Highway District

Worley Highway District

Scott Stokes Idaho Transportation Department

Brian Steele City of Rathdrum Rick Currie Kootenai County

Board Members Absent:

Norma Peone Coeur d'Alene Tribe

Anson Gable City of Hayden

Staff Present:

Glenn Miles, Executive Director Jennifer Wash. Administrative Assistant

1. Call to Order.

The meeting of the Kootenai Metropolitan Planning Organization Policy Board was called to order by Chair, Lynn Humphreys at 1:30 pm.

2. Approval of December Meeting Minutes.

Ms. Dixie Reid made a motion to approve the December 7, 2006 meeting minutes. Mr. Mark Soderling seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

3. Public Comments – Mr. Dick Edinger made a comment on the issue of the Craig-Wyden Forest Service bill for Timber Sales and the impact it will have on each jurisdiction's revenue if it does not pass. Chair Lynn Humphreys asked Mr. Glenn Miles to look into this issue and report back to the Board next month.

4. Administrative Matters - Glenn Miles

a) KMPO Vouchers - November 2006

Mr. Clay Larkin made a motion to approve the payment of the November 2006 KMPO Vouchers in the amount of \$7,277.48. The motion was seconded by Mr. James Mangan and unanimously approved.

b) KCATT Transportation Plan Update Key 9025 Vouchers – November 2006

Mr. Clay Larkin made a motion to approve payment of the November 2006 KCATT Transportation Plan Update Key 9025 Vouchers in the amount of \$5,632.78. The motion was seconded by Mr. James Mangan and unanimously approved.

c) Huetter Corridor Vouchers - October and November 2006

Mr. Clay Larkin made a motion to approve payment of the October and November 2006 Huetter Corridor Study Key 9170 Vouchers in the amount of \$12,410.83. The motion was seconded by Mr. James Mangan and unanimously approved.

5. Public Transportation Report.

a) Status Report on CityLink Service

Mr. Bill Spencer passed out the CityLink report to the Board for their review. Mr. Alan Eirls reported on ridership for the month of December and stated that a new bus went into service in the rural area. Mr. Spencer stated that last month Phase I was presented to the Board and he asked for final approval. He explained that once CityLink receives final approval they will then give public notice of the changes. Mr. Eirls presented a map that highlighted the new routes for the Board and all who attended to view.

Mr. Clay Larkin made a motion to move forward with Phase I of CityLink Service. The motion was seconded by Ms. Dixie Reid and unanimously approved.

b) Status Report on KATS Service

Mr. John Austin introduced Mr. Joe Crowe from KATS who then presented a graph that reported their ridership and routes for the month of December as well as highlighting the entire year's ridership numbers. This information, as well as CityLink's, will be posted on KMPO's website.

6. Director's Report

Mr. Glenn Miles, KMPO Executive Director, reported that the Inland Pacific Hub which was presented by Avista a few months ago did make it into the Governor's budget out of the Department of Commerce for \$250,000. This money was also put into the

Washington Governor's budget as well. There will be an Urban Balancing Committee meeting the first part of February and Mr. Miles will need the status of the projects in the area.

7. KCATT Recommendations – There weren't any recommendations this month

8. Other Business

Mr. Jimmie Dorsey of the East Side Highway District asked Mr. Miles to give an update of S.H. 97. Mr. Miles responded that the contract was signed by Ruen-Yeager and they are in the process of creating the Scope and Sequence with the goal of presenting it to the public in January. There will then be monthly updates starting in February.

10. Board Member Items.

Mr. Clay Larkin introduced Dr. Dick Harris, a retired School District Superintendent, as the new council member for the City of Post Falls. Mr. Harris will be Mr. Larkin's alternate on the KMPO Board.

Mr. Scott Stokes gave an update of the Garwood/Lancaster Interchange project and the concern that the interchange could be dropped from the GARVEE funding. Mr. John McHugh stated that if this project doesn't get backed by State Legislators that it will be dropped from the list.

Ms. Dixie Reid made a motion that a formal letter be written to the local legislators showing support of the Lancaster Interchange staying in the GARVEE budget. Mr. Rick Currie seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

Mr. Stokes also announced that the Board has selected Ms. Pam Lowe as the new director of the Idaho Transportation Department and Mr. Daryl Manning as the new ITD Board Chair.

Mr. Miles introduced Mayor Brian Steele to the KMPO Board for the City of Rathdrum. Mr. Vic Holmes who previously represented the City of Rathdrum has resigned from the Board. Mr. Steele stated that Mr. Jesse Ojala will be his alternate.

11. Adjournment.

There being no further business before the Kootenai Metropolitan Planning Organization Policy Board, the meeting was adjourned at 2:10 pm.

Jennifer Wash	
Recording Secretary	